The Furminator Review And Giveaway

Ivy says:

Imagine my surprise when, after I posted this post about pet hair on the furniture, a representative from the Furminator contacted me and asked me if I’d like one to review and one to give away! Why yes, yes I would. The Fed Ex man (who, incidentally, is not as cute as Mr. Brown, but he’ll do) dropped off my Furminator package yesterday, and I skipped lunch to brush the kitties and my dog.

I could use just one word to describe the Furminator: Amazing. They purport to be the best de-shedding tool in the world, and I completely agree with their assessment. The amount of hair that came off my cats, especially my big fat grey kitty, was both impressive and shocking. I honestly did not know that much hair existed on him, much less could be brushed off. But I’m getting ahead of myself, let me tell the story.

Simon likes to sew in a sunny windowClick to view larger.

Meet Simon. Simon is a big, fat, hairy cat. I’d estimate that 90% of the fur I sweep up in my house belongs to him. And he HATES being brushed. Naturally. So when I got the Furminator yesterday, I grabbed him first. I brushed him for about 15 minutes before he finally fought me enough to make me let him go. I ended up with a pile of fur like so:

Simon's Furminator resultsClick to view larger.

Now, that’s a pretty impressive pile of fur. So next I grabbed Spike. Spike doesn’t mind being brushed very much, but I can’t do it for very long, because he’s a rolling stone and must keep moving on.

Spike and his bagClick to view larger.

Meet Spike. Spike is huge like Simon is, but unlike Simon, he’s not fat. My vet said, the first time he saw him, “That’s the biggest non-fat cat I have ever seen.” Spike weighs 22 pounds and it’s all muscle. Like I said, he’s a rolling stone. And then he has to take a nap, because it’s tiring being a rolling stone all day.

So, I grabbed Spike to brush him. I got about 5 minutes of brushing in before he finally decided he had had enough and used my chest as a launching pad to get himself the heck outta there. Spike’s pile of fur was nowhere near as impressive as Simon’s was, but he had a lot less time and he also has a lot less fur. I waited until I was finished with Tiny to take a picture of the great pile o’ fur.

Tiny lets me take a picClick to view larger.

Meet Tiny. Tiny is half rat terrier and half chihuahua. He got both the best and worst of both breeds: he’s nervous, but fiercely loyal and obedient. He’d defend me from a bear, but is afraid of the dark. Tiny’s short haired, but he sheds quite a bit anyway. He stood there docilely as I brushed him. 15 minutes later, he was done and I noticed something quite amazing. Tiny’s coat is normally very rough. He adores being petted, but I can normally only stand to pet him for a little while because his coat is so rough. After using the Furminator on him, his coat was very smooth and I petted him as much as he wanted for the rest of the day. This morning, he’s still smooth. Very, very impressive.

Furminator resultsClick to view larger.

This is the pile of fur I amassed after brushing everyone. It’s not that huge, but what came later was amazing. Later, I saw Simon stretched out on the cat chair, and I thought, I’ll brush him some more and see what happens. Something amazing happened: Simon stretched out on the chair and allowed me to brush him. He, who normally despises being brushed, was actually enjoying it. Shocking, I tell you. I don’t have pictures of how much fur I brushed off, because this time I got smart and put the fur directly in the trash can. And you don’t want to see my nasty trash can, trust me. But I brushed off enough fur to make 4 or 5 more cats, plus a sweater.

So, let’s talk about the Furminator. Simply put, it’s an amazing tool and I would say it’s worth every penny they ask for it and then some. When I saw the videos on the Furminator’s site, I wondered if it somehow cut the hair. It was taking so much fur off the dog, that I thought it must be cutting the fur somehow. From watching the Furminator in real life, I can tell you it’s not cutting the hair, it just gets very deep into the fur and pulls out all the dead fur.

It doesn’t hurt them. I had wondered about that as well, but watching Simon stretch out so I could brush him more proved that to me. I very gently brushed him and he was loving it. And even though I was being very gentle, it worked like a charm. Fur just slathered off him.

So, with that, I’m pleased to announce that we’re giving away a small sized Furminator (for medium to small dogs and cats) to one lucky reader! All you have to do is leave a comment on this post and you’re entered to win. One entry per person, please. But you can have more chances to win- simply blog about this giveaway on your own site and leave us a link in the comments, and you’ll get a second chance to win!

So, what are you waiting for? Get to commenting/blogging! This giveaway ends at 12 midnight, Central time on Thursday, August 28th. Go! Go! Go!



152 Comments

  1. Peg on May 16, 2011 at 5:13 pm

    I have nine kitty rescues. Latest is a small spayed female, obviously a once-loved pet who was tossed from a car, spent winter under a barn, lost tips of ears to frostbite. Worst shedding I've ever seen (being inside after extremely cold winter that required extra fur growth??); we don old long-sleeve shirts before picking her up and breeze through giant packs of lint rollers. Just bought a Furminator; she loves it, we love it and it looks like she's on her way to being a sofa-compatible pet.



  2. Deb on May 1, 2011 at 12:33 pm

    THIS GROOMING TOOL SOUNDS WONDERFUL! I would love to win one. I recently bought new living room furniture that I had been saving up for for two years. A few months after getting the furniture I got 2 cats, one a long hair orange tabby and the other a short hair orange tabby. The new furniture material is a magnet for cat hair and in lieu of giving my cats away I would love to be able to win a grooming tool that would help greatly with their shedding on the furniture.



  3. noodle on August 29, 2008 at 12:06 am

    Oh, PLEASE, PLEASE let me be the winner. You’ve no idea how I need this. I sweep 2-3 times per day, and I *still* have dog hair tumbleweeds when I do my morning sweep. I think my dogs create a whole extra dog about once a week!



  4. Juliette on August 29, 2008 at 12:01 am

    Oh the fur. I would love to have a tool to manage the fur.



  5. Rachel on August 28, 2008 at 10:16 pm

    Oh please can I win this! I have 2 cats (one long-haired) and a very furry dog and would LOVE to have this product! My clothing and furniture would really appreciate it!



  6. Melanie on August 28, 2008 at 8:53 pm

    Harvey Cat’s mom would be ever so happy to have this tool in her arsenal to help keep her house fur free. She has a son-in-law with cat allergies who finds it difficult to visit.



  7. Ella Gray on August 28, 2008 at 6:59 pm

    The furminator sounds great and I could really use it for my new cat !



  8. Fran on August 28, 2008 at 5:58 pm

    We have a dog who sooooo needs this, he’s a giant furball, and it would be amazing to just pull the hair out of his coat.



  9. Crystal on August 28, 2008 at 5:06 pm

    3 cats and 3 dogs need I say more? LOL



  10. Anne on August 28, 2008 at 2:40 pm

    That is something I could really use in my battle against the fur!



  11. kat on August 28, 2008 at 2:16 pm

    oh my dogs shed so much, I could create another dog from their fur!

    Thanks for the opportunity!



  12. Angela on August 28, 2008 at 1:59 pm

    I could put one of these to good use!



  13. K on August 28, 2008 at 1:58 pm

    Who wouldn’t want one of these?! My cat sheds enough fur to make a second cat every day or two. Oy. Not going to lie, I’d love one of these…



  14. LAUREN MEEKS on August 28, 2008 at 1:49 pm

    I would really love to win this. I’m so tired of dog hair!



  15. Rachael on August 28, 2008 at 1:11 pm

    Wow, that looks really cool.



  16. Michelle on August 28, 2008 at 12:21 pm

    I really need this our dog sheds so bad.



  17. natalie on August 28, 2008 at 11:53 am

    I can haz Furminator? We have two cats, one very floofy, and a baby who loves to try to eat cat hair. Halp!



  18. Veggiemomof2 on August 28, 2008 at 11:53 am

    I have 4 dogs & need this badly!



  19. Fawn on August 28, 2008 at 11:47 am

    I always forget to brush the pets and thus end up sweeping and vacuuming a lot of hair. It’s time to turn over a new leaf!



  20. Charlotte on August 28, 2008 at 11:45 am

    I can honestly say I never thought about brushing my cat to help w/the furballs that float like tumbleweeds down my hallway. I know how much he hates it so I just resigned myself to vacuuming more! My daughter would love this πŸ™‚



  21. Sare on August 28, 2008 at 11:15 am

    Wow! I just moved in with a new roommate, and boy would that help establish peace!



  22. Maureen on August 28, 2008 at 6:37 am

    Wow…what a lot of hair you have…in your house. I could definitely use one of those, perhaps a little bigger. They are costly to buy, but you can get some deals on ebay. Thanks and best of luck with the hair issue.



  23. sarah on August 28, 2008 at 6:04 am

    Sounds like a great tool. We have 3 cats, including a 26-pounder (on a diet) who sheds constantly.



  24. Stephanie on August 28, 2008 at 1:09 am

    I would love to have this for my cats and dog!



  25. Beatrice on August 27, 2008 at 9:29 pm

    Four cats, and one of them loves being brushed. He’s also got allergies/asthma, and having this would help with those! Thanks for the giveaway.



  26. Amanda on August 27, 2008 at 4:08 pm

    I’ve got a black cat and a yellow dog, so I don’t have one article of clothing that doesn’t show at least one shade of hair. Enter me please!!



  27. Elizabeth Anne on August 27, 2008 at 3:43 pm

    OOh! ME!



  28. Amanda Page on August 27, 2008 at 1:22 pm

    Our three cats all like to be brushed, and we pull out a new cat’s worth of hair every month, it seems. And yet we still end up with hairy trousers. I’d love to de-hair the rest of my house in advance with the Furminator!



  29. Brenda on August 26, 2008 at 7:47 pm

    Okay, okay!!….you talked me into it! Our Tommy (long-haired cat) does shed quite a bit, & can only stand to be combed for short periods of time. This Furminator sounds as though it would be just the thing. :o)

    Brenda



  30. themomhalf on August 26, 2008 at 7:15 pm

    boy with 2 dogs and a long haired cat i could really use this, thanks for the info and a chance to win one πŸ™‚ — we have hamsters too, but i bet i couldn’t use it on them – lol



  31. trisha on August 26, 2008 at 4:03 pm

    I need one of these for my own fat, grey cat — thanks!



  32. Fraulein N on August 26, 2008 at 2:55 pm

    That is absolutely fascinating. I could definitely use one of those for my long-haired cat.



  33. amybee on August 26, 2008 at 1:35 pm

    I know there’s a dachshund under there somewhere.



  34. RockyCat on August 26, 2008 at 1:01 pm

    I just adopted two kittens from a local shelter and I could really, really use a furminator!



  35. […] AT it! August 26, 2008, 7:04 am Filed under: Uncategorized The lovely ladies of Home Ec 101 are giving away a Furminator — uber-grooming tool for pets. I have spent the whole summer cleaning up after Kitty Jane and […]



  36. bridgett on August 26, 2008 at 7:59 am

    Oh, pick me! Pick me! I seem to spend all of my free time either brushing the cat or vacuuming up her fur.



  37. Fresh Girl on August 25, 2008 at 9:20 pm

    Oh, I could so use this… between the dog and the cat, they’re out to kill me with their fur. We have hard wood floors, and I walk with crutches, and let me tell you — when one of those rubber tips hits a clump of fur on those slickish floors, I go flying.



  38. Kara on August 25, 2008 at 2:42 pm

    I recently adopted two puppies and this would be very useful! Thanks for the great review, too! πŸ™‚



  39. Faith W. on August 25, 2008 at 1:29 pm

    I’ve been toying with the idea of buying this – but I wasn’t sure it was all it was cracked up to be. I don’t know anyone who owns one to ask, so I was happy to hear your experience.
    Hope I get to win one before I have to buy one!



  40. marybeth on August 25, 2008 at 1:16 pm

    I could totally use one of these!



  41. AA on August 25, 2008 at 12:47 pm

    Hahahhaaa!! I can’t believe how many comments there are here! Maybe we need to start a de-fur therapy group ..

    Like the rest, I would love to win this contest. Fluffy kitties who hate to be brushed have my house looking like it is covered in shag carpet.

    OK – it really isn’t that bad, but it certainly feels that way! (:



  42. Shelley Somerville on August 25, 2008 at 11:34 am

    Wow this sounds great! I have a rat terrier who sheds constantly and hates being brushed. We have tried every gizmo on the planet and nothing helps. This would be perfect!



  43. Chrissy on August 25, 2008 at 10:47 am

    I could really use this, thanks for the giveaway!



  44. Julia on August 25, 2008 at 10:33 am

    I have a very furry gray cat that would love this! I mean, I would love it and maybe he would deal with it.



  45. warillever on August 25, 2008 at 10:13 am

    Pick me! Besides me, our cat is the shedingest thing on the planet.



  46. Natalie on August 25, 2008 at 8:15 am

    Wow! This sounds great, I’d love to win this to use on our cats!



  47. Kendra on August 24, 2008 at 11:39 pm

    With three cats and a new puppy I need this!



  48. Heather on August 24, 2008 at 9:32 pm

    This would be awesome for my 4 cats. The cheap grocery store wire brush removes a lot of fur from them, so I can only imagine what the Furminator would remove.



  49. Hilary on August 24, 2008 at 7:52 pm

    Me me me! I have three cats and a half golden retriever, half chow. Yes, that means lots of hair.



  50. Cathy on August 24, 2008 at 4:54 pm

    Oh, I need one of these! We have 7 cats and a dog (inside) and the hair, well, just imagine! I’ve never heard of this but will look into it.



  51. chichimama on August 24, 2008 at 4:17 pm

    Oh! I would love to win one!!!!



  52. Pam on August 24, 2008 at 3:51 pm

    Wow, sounds too good to be true.
    I have 2 big dogs and three cats, I sure would like to try it.
    I enjoy your blog
    Thanks



  53. Scott on August 24, 2008 at 3:28 pm

    Would love one.



  54. Kelly on August 24, 2008 at 3:05 pm

    This is awesome! I really need one of these. I’ve got 2 cats who shed so much I can’t keep up with it. I’d love to win a Furminator πŸ™‚



  55. Tara on August 24, 2008 at 12:54 pm

    My dog does not shed. My neighbor’s dog, however, has left enough hair on my floor to create another dog with. Pugs are sweet, but oh so sheddy. I would love to give this to my neighbor, tied with a pretty satin bow.



  56. Andrea on August 24, 2008 at 12:54 pm

    I have two cats and one sheds more than the other. I can’t keep up with sweeping the floor. Not only that, but fur is everywhere they are. On the furniture and on the bed. This would be so perfect for me.



  57. Katie Wood on August 24, 2008 at 11:22 am

    I don’t know if *I* could sit still for 15 minutes, but that sure would be nice to have, with 3 cats and a dog in my house! I’m definetly making a link to this post!



  58. Mary Jo on August 24, 2008 at 10:00 am

    We need one of these. Pugs and persians are the harriest creatures on earth!!!!!



  59. JimK on August 24, 2008 at 6:14 am

    Ooh! Me! See, we took in a feral cat that no one wanted, the shelter people knew us as patient, cat-oriented cat lovers. Everyone thought we could bring her around.

    We can’t. 6 years later and we barely know this cat, although in special places, at special times, known only to her and lasting no more than 5 minutes, we may touch her.

    This skittishness has led to her hiding all day and not doing cat things, so she’s fat. FAAAAAAtT-fat. With horrible dry skin. That she can’t reach. Or is willing to let us touch. So we are gonna take her in to be shaved and medicated-bathed soon.

    BUT if we has this we could catch her and try to groom away her immense, extra-thick dead undercoat.

    Me! Pick me!



  60. Alice on August 24, 2008 at 2:19 am

    woohoo! A giveaway that would help out my allergies.



  61. Barbara on August 24, 2008 at 1:40 am

    With 3 cats and a dog, I need this as much as you did. Thanks for the great giveaway.



  62. Carolyn on August 23, 2008 at 11:27 pm

    I need help!
    My floors are now made of dog hair!I could really use this.



  63. Alli C. on August 23, 2008 at 10:08 pm

    My puppy NEEDS this. He absolutely dreads when I take out the brush/comb to clean him up. He’s super sweet, but his hair is so thick, it always ends up in tangles and all of the shedding fur, just ends up hanging on for dear life.
    Fingers Crossed!



  64. Kim on August 23, 2008 at 9:42 pm

    I would love to have this so that I could get my dog’s grandma named Butter as a companion for him. Hope Grandma Butter can come to stay!



  65. buckycatt on August 23, 2008 at 5:25 pm

    I am moving to a new apartment. It took forever to find one that would allow me to have cats. I think a Furminator is the purrfect moving present for my kitcats.



  66. Crayl on August 23, 2008 at 4:37 pm

    This would make a fabulous gift for a fabulous friend and her fabulous dogs.



  67. Taylor on August 23, 2008 at 3:52 pm

    My mom has one of these and I can attest to how awesome it is. We’re about to get a cat, so I am all over this giveaway.



  68. Diana in Illinois on August 23, 2008 at 3:00 pm

    Whoa! Count me in!! I have a cat and dog that are smallish, but you would never know it by the amount of hair in the house!!
    I have wondered about this product myself and am happy to have had a review.
    Good luck to me, Diana



  69. Sara on August 23, 2008 at 12:07 pm

    I live in furtown with my long-haired Himalayan cat, Vincent. The fur has a life of its own and I fear one day I will be trapped under one of the mountains of fur, with no food and water, while Vincent just heckles me, perched from one of his favorite haunts. The furminator could be a matter of life or death! Help!



  70. Kam A on August 23, 2008 at 10:23 am

    We could definitely use one of these!



  71. jennybek on August 23, 2008 at 10:00 am

    I would love to try this. I agree with Teresa, our beagle Fella sheds everywhere. We have wood floors and have to sweep the fur every day or it gets … ugh … pretty nasty. I think he would enjoy it too. Pick me! Pick me!



  72. Kim on August 23, 2008 at 9:44 am

    Just found your blog and just in time! I have a fat cat named Simon, he is a love bug, but he is also a big old hair ball! Hope I win your giveaway so I can make him at least a pound lighter after I brush him with that new brush you have there!



  73. Elizabeth on August 23, 2008 at 9:36 am

    Wow this looks great we have two dogs and 3 guinea pigs. The pigs like to be brushed at times and the dogs need it. Please enter me.
    Thanks πŸ™‚



  74. Stephanie on August 23, 2008 at 12:37 am

    That sounds way more effective than the old shoe polish brush I found in the garage that serves as their current brush! My babies take pride in turning my cream carpet to a mesh of back and brown hastily strewn rugs!



  75. Tonya Wilson on August 23, 2008 at 12:32 am

    Would love to have this……..not sure if the dogs would love it………..but I would and that’s all that matters!!……right??



  76. Tessa on August 22, 2008 at 11:42 pm

    Please enter me. I have two cat’s and my roommate is very allergic. They also have two dogs- our house is crazy. We vacuum all the time but it’s not enough…



  77. Lenetta on August 22, 2008 at 11:22 pm

    Two kitties in our house, and I’ve been e-mailing other kitty owned friends lately to find out what I can do to limit the hairball hurking. The furminator came up, but I don’t have room in the pet budget at present time. Camilla, Nappy, and my hubs would love it if you’d pick me!



  78. Martine on August 22, 2008 at 10:36 pm

    I would love to win the furminator. I have two short hair cats, yet they still manage to shed huge amounts. Thank you



  79. supermommy on August 22, 2008 at 10:36 pm

    Oh, I would so love this! I have 4 cats and a dog and I swear I could just finish cleaning the floors and hairballs will just roll past me.



  80. Molly B on August 22, 2008 at 9:45 pm

    Your Spike looks just like my Simon! But he wasn’t anywhere near 22 pounds.



  81. Mary on August 22, 2008 at 9:14 pm

    Me, me, me! My semi-longhaired cat leaves PILES of hair every where she goes. It’s maddening!!!



  82. Kelly on August 22, 2008 at 9:00 pm

    We would LOVE to try this! Amazing!



  83. M3 on August 22, 2008 at 8:59 pm

    Three cats and two dogs! This sounds amazing! I feel like jumping up and down with my hand up saying, “Pick me! Pick me!”.



  84. Martha on August 22, 2008 at 8:41 pm

    oh, and you KNOW I will put it on my blog – this is a highly under-discussed issue – ha!
    http://lifeofpreston.blogspot.com



  85. Martha on August 22, 2008 at 8:35 pm

    puh-lease help me!! I have two dogs and a toddler running around and he manages to find dog hair everywhere, even after I clean! I have tried other tools out on the back porch and it is as if we got snow in July in Texas by the size of the hair drifts that accumulate as I brush. I am totally going to check out their site!



  86. Pam on August 22, 2008 at 8:15 pm

    I’m too late for the give-away but I have a friend that swers by this gizzzzzmo…..they have a golden retriever and they wouldn’t be without theirs. Pam, South Bend



  87. Stephanie on August 22, 2008 at 8:04 pm

    Okay, so I read your post and now I’m wondering what on earth I can be doing wrong. My dogs hated being brushed in the first place, probably for two reasons – 1 – I don’t do it often enough and 2 – because of that they have that awful undercoat beneath their long hair that must suck coming out.

    I get the furminator because in petsmart their little video makes it look like my dogs will just love it and that it will be super easy.

    They don’t. It’s not (but because of them not the brush).

    They now try to BITE me. They never tried to bite me before. So if you wouldn’t mind, could you ask that rep what it is that I’m doing so terribly wrong that my loving furballs now want to bite me?

    On a side note though, I still like the thing, whether they do or not, since I can still get a lot of hair out of them before the dodging of teeth begins πŸ˜‰



  88. Shirla on August 22, 2008 at 7:28 pm

    How exciting, sign me up! I have a Yorkie and two cats. The two cats actually shed a lot more then my Yorkie. I’ve heard some awesome things about the Furninator.



  89. Danetta on August 22, 2008 at 7:13 pm

    Oh, and I posted on my blog too
    http://ohnoitsthefro.blogspot.com



  90. Danetta on August 22, 2008 at 7:05 pm

    How exciting!! After your post the other day and went to their site and watched the video. I thought about buying one now I am REALLY hoping I can win one.



  91. regina on August 22, 2008 at 6:31 pm

    Plz sign me up, WOW would i like 2 win this thing πŸ˜‰
    1 ? tho, think it would work on hubby??



  92. Erin on August 22, 2008 at 6:28 pm

    Sloopy needs a good brushing!



  93. Christy on August 22, 2008 at 6:17 pm

    Want!!!

    I’ll come back and leave another comment if I remember to blog about it.



  94. Liz on August 22, 2008 at 6:11 pm

    Please, me? I’m pretty sure I have an extra cats worth of hair laying around here. Thanks!



  95. Kay on August 22, 2008 at 5:43 pm

    We don’t have furminator in the UK – I need this device as I have two, supposedly non-shedding Cairn Terriers, and some mornings I swear I end up wading through a sea of dog hair …



  96. Fiona on August 22, 2008 at 5:39 pm

    My sister would LOVE this. 1 cat, 1 dog.. this would make her life so much easier. Thanks for the giveaway.



  97. Jen on August 22, 2008 at 5:38 pm

    I am so glad that they sent you one to try. I have been wondering how this tool would work. Thank you for the review! I have 2 cats and they shed ALL the time. I would love to win this!



  98. Rachel on August 22, 2008 at 5:25 pm

    With 3 cats at home, we certainly could use this. Thanks for the chance to win!



  99. amy on August 22, 2008 at 5:13 pm

    I have a beagle – she’s not a horrible shedder, but seriously, there’s still hair everywhere! Thanks πŸ™‚



  100. Courtney on August 22, 2008 at 5:13 pm

    Sign me up! I have a zoo!



  101. Billie on August 22, 2008 at 5:08 pm

    Count me in..



  102. Miranda on August 22, 2008 at 5:05 pm

    I’d LOVE to win this! I’ve been wanting one of these, but just can’t justify the high price.



  103. amy on August 22, 2008 at 5:04 pm

    thank you! greata giveaway. my beagle will love being brushed.



  104. Connie on August 22, 2008 at 4:33 pm

    I am so in.



  105. Katie R on August 22, 2008 at 3:50 pm

    My cat would hate the Furminator as much as we would love it. I swear his hair rolls around our house like dead sagebrush in the desert!



  106. Big GUM on August 22, 2008 at 3:46 pm

    Oh man, I think I could really put that to good use (3 cats).



  107. Kaye on August 22, 2008 at 3:42 pm

    Count me in AGAIN. =)

    Thanks for the opp!

    http://mrsnespysworld.blogspot.com/2008/08/giveaway.html



  108. Michelle on August 22, 2008 at 3:34 pm

    I would love one of these for our cat. Come spring, she literally sheds “kittens” all over the place, no matter how much we brush her. We always joke about there being enough hair there that we could build another cat.



  109. Kaye on August 22, 2008 at 3:33 pm

    We have two long-haired cats, so COUNT ME IN!



  110. Jude on August 22, 2008 at 3:28 pm

    Would love to win this! A great gadget to help with two shedding Min Pins! !!!



  111. elle on August 22, 2008 at 3:16 pm

    ohhhhh, i’ve caught myself coveting these a lot lately in these super hot summer days…i spread the word over here about the giveaway! πŸ™‚



  112. the furminator « elle recherche on August 22, 2008 at 3:14 pm

    […] head on over for some very nifty show and tell as well as the details on the […]



  113. Rean Day on August 22, 2008 at 3:08 pm

    My cat has been having the toughest time with hairballs lately. I am getting tired of using up all my resolve on … furball spots. I would love to see how this influences this issue.

    Rean Day



  114. Suzanne on August 22, 2008 at 3:00 pm

    Oh, I need to win this for my mother– she has 4 inside cats and 6 outside cats and she would share with my brother who lives next door and has three more cats. That’s right, if I win this it could help reduce 13 cats worth of hair! If I don’t win I know what I’ll be buying Mom for Christmas!



  115. jen on August 22, 2008 at 2:56 pm

    Wow, something tells me this will be a crowded contest! Nevertheless, sign me up please!! I’d love to not have to buzzcut the kitties every spring.



  116. Mom of three on August 22, 2008 at 2:55 pm

    Sign me up as well. I already had one in my Amazon cart, but if I win this one, I will gladly remove it. πŸ™‚ Tell Mr. Furminator man that I will gladly sample his product and tell all my friends if he’ll send me one for my kitty and dog.

    Our puppy would love this, since he loves to be brushed, or trimmed, and I am horrible at both.



  117. Sandy on August 22, 2008 at 2:51 pm

    What a coinky-dink that you posted this!
    Just this morning, I vacuumed from the vents on the front of my fridge enough cat hair to fabricate a whole ‘nother cat. Nasty!
    I could definitely use this!



  118. Patia on August 22, 2008 at 2:41 pm

    I would love to win this, but if I don’t, I will probably buy one for my two kitties! Thanks so much for the review.



  119. Becky Smith on August 22, 2008 at 2:33 pm

    We have a fat cat that sheds like crazy when you pet her….and all the rest of the time too, it seems. We also have a toy rat terrier. We have not found a brush that works for him as his hair is very short and very thin, but he manages to leave it everywhere as well! I looked at the furminator when you mentioned it in your other post, but decided it was too expensive to purchase right now.



  120. chocolatechic on August 22, 2008 at 2:23 pm

    I’d love to have one of these.

    I have 2 beasties.(cats) Grace and Whiskey. They shed like nobody’s business. I am constantly vacuuming, sweeping, and wiping hair from everywhere.



  121. Fawn on August 22, 2008 at 2:19 pm

    Oooh! Pick me! Please pick me!



  122. Jean on August 22, 2008 at 2:19 pm

    Sure. Two long haired dopes. I mean dogs. *sigh* I look forward to being a no-dog household someday.



  123. Sarah on August 22, 2008 at 2:08 pm

    That sounds amazing!! We have two dogs and a small apartment… we could really use one!!



  124. Araceli on August 22, 2008 at 2:06 pm

    This may save me from have to sweep up the little patches I find here and there everyday. And I laughed for a while at: “But I brushed off enough fur to make 4 or 5 more cats, plus a sweater.” That is a lot of hair.



  125. Melissa on August 22, 2008 at 2:00 pm

    Thank you for the giveaway – our dog (and our floors, furniture, bedding…) needs this, badly!



  126. TennZen on August 22, 2008 at 1:58 pm

    You have GOT to be kidding… a brush that the cat actually enjoyed? I cannot get my Merlin ( aka the Fattest Cat in Tennessee – he weighs over 30 pounds) to sit still for a brushing… ever! This I gotta see. Little Bit would probably sit still for it, as long as my son is holding her. She’s supposed to be MY cat, but she adopted him. Fickle felines, *sigh.* Sign me up, please!



  127. Val on August 22, 2008 at 1:50 pm

    I would love one of these–I have a gray tortoiseshell cat who regularly sheds off enough fur to make a new gray tortoiseshell cat.



  128. Shelley on August 22, 2008 at 1:49 pm

    I could really use one of these. Thanks for a great giveaway!



  129. traci on August 22, 2008 at 1:46 pm

    i’ve been trying to talk my mom into one of these for awhile. she’s got two cats, but very little time to brush them as much as they need to, which means she has to vacuum up after them more.



  130. Kath on August 22, 2008 at 1:40 pm

    Humm, I wonder how this would work on my cockapoo? Well, if I win I’ll let you know how it goes! πŸ˜‰



  131. Michael on August 22, 2008 at 1:40 pm

    I love and need a furminator! Please, please me! We have been borrowing a friend’s about once every 3 or 4 months and it is great. Really helps with our two dogs. Thanks for the giveaway!



  132. Crystal B. on August 22, 2008 at 1:34 pm

    This would be great for my dog. Thanks for the chance.



  133. Tiera on August 22, 2008 at 1:29 pm

    I would love to have one of these. I’m so allergic, I look for anything that helps keep the pet fur down.



  134. Victoria on August 22, 2008 at 1:26 pm

    I would love to win this. I have six cats and you can imagine what kind of chaos they can evoke.



  135. Alex on August 22, 2008 at 1:23 pm

    4 cats. All shed. All fat. ’nuff said?



  136. TraceyS on August 22, 2008 at 1:18 pm

    Oh boy do I need that! We’ve got three cats who shed so much we’ve got tumbleweeds of hair rolling through our house all the time (even when I remember to vacuum daily).



  137. Caanan on August 22, 2008 at 1:13 pm

    The Furminator sounds amazing. I think my cat would really appreciate it. πŸ™‚



  138. Julie on August 22, 2008 at 1:10 pm

    I have been dying to try one of these things out. If I don’t win I think I might just buy one. My vacuum cleaner will thank me.



  139. Princess Leia on August 22, 2008 at 1:10 pm

    I’d love to win this for my cat named Monkey (confused toddler to come along very soon). She’s got LONG, fine, grey fur that collects on our one rug and her favorite chair. And my face. Dunno why, but anytime she rubs against me, especially my face, a wad comes off.



  140. saraclark on August 22, 2008 at 1:09 pm

    Calvin the CatBastard will actually come to us and beg us to brush him with the Furminator and be careful because we brushed RainCat too much and could see his little pink scalp through the remaining white fur.

    It does change the texture of their fur and makes them feel very different.



  141. Nancy on August 22, 2008 at 1:07 pm

    Just chiming in to attest to the Furminator’s awesomeness. We recently adopted a medium-hair cat to join our domestic short hair, and between the two of them they shed a LOT. This brush just pulls the fur off like crazy and keeps it from getting all over the house and furniture. It’s a little pricey, but worth every penny.

    (p.s., if I win I’d give the brush to my mom and dad who have 2 cats also.)



  142. Megan on August 22, 2008 at 1:03 pm

    Sign me up! My dogs shed so much that little furballs go rolling across the floor like a scene from a western movie…



  143. Betty on August 22, 2008 at 1:02 pm

    Oh please pick me! I have two dogs and feel like I’m swimming in dog hair! The furminator would save my cleaning sanity!! Thanks!



  144. Teresa on August 22, 2008 at 1:00 pm

    Sign me up please. I just lost my beagle to cancer, but will be getting back up on the horse again with another puppy soon. Anyone who tells you beagles don’t shed will lie about other stuff too. πŸ™‚



  145. badger on August 22, 2008 at 12:59 pm

    I know a couple that has 4 cats and they desperately need this tool. They are all fuzzy and shed like mad all year long.



  146. May on August 22, 2008 at 12:57 pm

    That’s cool! My cat Frederick sheds such fine hair that the vacuum can’t pick it out of the carpet! Drives me nuts!



  147. Megan on August 22, 2008 at 12:56 pm

    Oh, sign me up, too! I have three catsβ€”and the only one who likes getting brushed is the one who doesn’t need it. But I’ve wanted a furminator forever for the other two (a Maine Coon and a tabby with diabetes, which makes his hair nasty).



  148. rumielf on August 22, 2008 at 12:54 pm

    Sounds pretty darn awesome! I’m gonna have to check out this thing for the cats though I won’t complain if it’s a won one. πŸ™‚

    Spike sounds like my cat, Ash. He’s a big cat but it’s not fat, he’s just muscled. And heavy!



  149. Amphritrite on August 22, 2008 at 12:50 pm

    I’m in! Two kitties + hot weather = LOTS of fur!



  150. jag on August 22, 2008 at 12:46 pm

    Sign me up! I’ve had to pay my friend at doggie day care to furminate my mutts. I’d LOVE to be able to do it at home!



  151. grace on August 22, 2008 at 12:45 pm

    Please please please please let me win. My kitty is the hairiest durned thing to ever walk into my life (besides that one boyfriend, but I digress)… Having all hard wood floors and no rugs, there’s little textile in my house to “trap” cat hair so it all rolls around like little kitty tumbleweed… I can’t keep up! Maybe, just maybe, if I had a furminator, I would stop the hair before it became part of the floor landscape. Please oh please oh please pick me!!! πŸ™‚



  152. Kara on August 22, 2008 at 12:42 pm

    I could really use this! We have 3 cats and I am tired of the hair all over!