Review and Giveaway: The Complete Idiot’s Guide to Flour-Free Eating

Heather says:

You all know the drill, first we make the FTC happy and then we get down to business. I was sent one copy of The Complete Idiot’s Guide To Flour-Free Eating for review purposes. Any links to the book are affiliate links, this just means I get a small cut if someone makes a purchase through that link, it does not impact the price for the consumer. I will be giving away this book in a random drawing.

This book is written more to those who are looking to begin a new flourless diet than those who are forced to avoid gluten due to a medical condition. While many of the recipes are clearly labelled as gluten-free, this is not the focus of the book.

The informational section at the beginning gives a decent introduction to how and why someone would transition to a flour-free diet and is also presents some important nutritional information.

Throughout the book there are plenty of quick tips and definitions that would be helpful to any novice cook.

This book contains some interesting recipes that I plan on trying in the future, the one that first caught my eye is Cajun Shrimp Stew with Browned Flourless Roux. Regular readers know, I’m pretty much sold on anything with both shrimp and roux.

I think this book would be best for novice cooks looking to experiment with a flour-free diet, for diabetics looking for recipes lower on the glycemic index, and to those with celiac disease looking for a few alternative recipes such as for salad dressings and other items that may be difficult to find gluten-free.

I will be giving away my review copy in a random drawing. The drawing is open to anyone who leaves a comment between now (Aug 2, 2010 7:30pm) and Saturday August 7, 2010 at 9pm Eastern.

That’s it, no hoops to jump through. Just leave a comment and I’ll announce the winner on Sunday.



27 Comments

  1. Sun on August 5, 2010 at 5:03 am

    this would be great as we have friends w/ wheat allergies & get stumped when figuring out what to serve.

  2. Jes on August 4, 2010 at 10:38 pm

    Sounds like something I'd be interested in experimenting with! Thanks for your weekly chores. My house is starting to stay put together longer after cleanings!

  3. asyhre on August 4, 2010 at 6:04 pm

    would love some new ideas for Malia.

  4. CanadianCarrie on August 4, 2010 at 5:32 am

    Sounds like a great book!! Pick me, Pick me!! 🙂

  5. Audra on August 3, 2010 at 7:46 pm

    This looks like an interesting book. We're learning how to cook gluten-free as well as for blood sugar reasons. Thanks for a wonderful blog. 🙂

  6. Shari on August 3, 2010 at 7:20 pm

    I *need* to eliminate both sugar and flour from my diet, I know, but it seems that's easier said than done. That cookbook might go a long way toward helping with the the flour part of it! Thanks for offering to give up your copy!

  7. Elizabeth on August 3, 2010 at 2:48 pm

    Oh, as a recently diagnosed celiac, I’m always on the hunt for recipes. Thanks for the opportunity to win and I love your site!

  8. Sherry on August 3, 2010 at 6:20 pm

    I too would love to win this book. I have been trying to make healthy lifestyle changes as of late. Interesting enough, at work we were talking about a Brownie made with wholewheat flour and honey instead of the usual bleached flour, eggs and sugar and low and behold there's a picture of a couple of yummy looking Brownies on the cover on this book!

  9. @JayMonster on August 3, 2010 at 5:54 pm

    Understanding that Gluten Free is not the focus, anything that can potentially give us some gluten free ideas, would certainly be beneficial.

  10. Melanna on August 3, 2010 at 5:12 pm

    oooh, my carb-loving self could probably use some alternative yummies!

  11. Colleen Cole on August 3, 2010 at 5:02 pm

    I bake for my Mom regularly, and she has celiac disease, so this would be helpful. Thanks!

  12. Cindy on August 3, 2010 at 2:22 pm

    I am pretty curious to see how your body would change or feel with out flour in your diet. It's very strange, but I like to try new things in life. It keeps me on my toes!

  13. April V on August 3, 2010 at 2:01 pm

    I would love to win this book! Thanks for the great giveaway! 🙂

  14. Tinkerschnitzel on August 3, 2010 at 1:43 pm

    Looks like an interesting cook book. My mom's diabetic, so I guess I need to work on healthier meals for me and the boys.

  15. Sarah M. on August 3, 2010 at 9:02 am

    Count me in! We have to work with a lot of dietary restrictions and this book sounds helpful!

  16. Karen on August 3, 2010 at 8:40 am

    Love your blog and all that you do. These emails are never passed over! Would love to win, but oops, I’m already a winner because I’m on your distribution list. Thanks for sharing!

  17. judith on August 3, 2010 at 12:22 pm

    looks like a great book; thanks for sharing it

  18. Mary BArtlett on August 3, 2010 at 11:29 am

    This looks like just what I have been hoping to find. Loving to cook and eat many wheat products and now having to find alternates or do without is NO FUN. Thanks for sharing this information!

  19. Dawn on August 3, 2010 at 9:31 am

    At long last , about time, someone finally has come up with flour free recipes.I thank you my family thanks you,there are so many things we will be able to eat now. I would love to receive a copy of this book.

  20. Stephanie on August 3, 2010 at 4:11 am

    OK…I might as well use the opportunity to say thanks for your blog

  21. Stacy on August 3, 2010 at 7:22 am

    I am interested in trying out recipes like this. Thanks!

  22. Ursula on August 3, 2010 at 4:23 am

    Sounds great! Count me in!

  23. Sarah on August 3, 2010 at 2:33 am

    I've been wanting to try more gluten-free recipes, especially for baked goods. This looks great!

  24. Erin on August 3, 2010 at 2:24 am

    This would be great! We're gluten free at our house 🙂

  25. Kristin on August 3, 2010 at 2:14 am

    I have a friend that was just diagnosed with celiac disease – I would love to give this book to her!

  26. Rachel on August 3, 2010 at 1:02 am

    being that lots of my friends have allergies or diet restrictions and i like to experiment with cooking new things, i think it would be fun to have this book. maybe then some of these friends would actually be able to come over for dinner, since i might have something good to cook.

  27. Cheri on August 2, 2010 at 8:16 pm

    This looks like just the right book for our family as we attempt to do battle with weight, allergies, diabetes and make our way towards healthier people! Thanks for doing the review!

Leave a Comment